Welcome to the SysMus12 Conference

After the success of the four previous SysMus Conferences in Graz – Austria (2008), Ghent – Belgium (2009), Cambridge – United Kingdom (2010) and Cologne – Germany (2011), we are proud to welcome the Fifth International Conference of Students of Systematic Musicology (SysMus12) in Montreal, Canada, from May 24th to May 26th 2012. 

One of the goals of SysMus International conferences is to contribute to the creation of networks between Musicology students coming from different horizons, both geographical and discipline-wise, and to create a dynamic force of reflection and discussion between researchers.

Organized by advanced students, SysMus conferences give the opportunity to young, 2nd and 3rd-cycle Musicology researchers to present their research results (communications, posters and on-line publications) and to benefit from the experience and knowledge of four renowned invited keynote speakers.  Social activities (visits, concerts, tastings) as well as discussion workshops complete the SysMus12 program.  (For more information on the SysMus concept, please visit https://sites.google.com/site/sysmusconference/).

Systematic musicology, a terminology proposed by Adler (1885) and third axiom accompanying the ins and outs of ethnomusicology and historic musicology within the current European tripartite model, distinguishes itself by its objects, methods and purposes.  The study of musical manifestations (performance, styles, genres, works, executers, composers, traditions) is dedicated to the understanding of their mechanisms according to a wider perspective, aiming to reveal both the general properties of music and their implications toward all sociocultural processes of expression, interaction and communication.  These questions may concern many paradigms and disciplines belonging to natural and technological sciences or humanities (acoustics, computing, sociology, psychology, neuroscience, cognitive science, physiology, linguistics, philosophy, semiotics, aesthetics, etc.), and employ the diverse adequate research methodologies and epistemology those disciplines bring about. The interdisciplinary nature of systematic musicology is then characterized in effect by its empirical approach, leaning on quantifiable data, allied to a critical analysis of the problem. These diverse research perspectives, regrouped within the musicological field, shall yield fundamental knowledge on Music and its functions, but also artistic –practice, performance, musical technologies or pedagogy – and social – therapy, re-education, communication – applications.

This 5th SysMus12 conference is set in collaboration with OICRM, Faculty of Music – Université de Montréal, BRAMS and Cercle de Musicologie – Université de Montréal.

Bienvenue au Congrès SysMus12

Après le succès rencontré par les quatre précédents Congrès SysMus à  Graz, Autriche (2008), Gand, Belgique (2009), Cambridge, Royaume-Uni (2010) et Cologne, Allemagne (2011), nous sommes heureux d’accueillir le cinquième congrès international étudiant de musicologie systématique (SysMus12) à Montréal, Canada, du 24 au 26 mai 2012.

Un des objectifs des congrès internationaux SysMus est de contribuer à la création de réseaux entre étudiants musicologues venus de divers horizons, tant géographiques que disciplinaires, et de créer une dynamique de réflexion et de discussion entre chercheurs.

Organisés par des étudiants des cycles supérieurs, les congrès SysMus permettent aux jeunes chercheurs en musicologie systématique des 2ème et 3ème cycles de présenter les résultats de leurs travaux (communications, affiches et publications en ligne) et de bénéficier de l’expérience et du savoir de 4 spécialistes de renom invités à donner une conférence. Des activités sociales (visites, concert, dégustations) ainsi que des ateliers de discussion complèteront le programme de conférences proposé par le congrès SysMus12. (Pour plus d’informations sur le concept SysMus, visitez le site https://sites.google.com/site/sysmusconference/)

La musicologie systématique, terminologie proposée par Adler (1885) et tiers axiome accompagnant les tenants de l’ethnomusicologie et de la musicologie historique au sein du modèle tripartite européen actuel, se distingue par ses objets, méthodes et finalités. L’étude des manifestations musicales (performance, styles, genres, œuvres, interprètes, compositeurs, traditions) y est vouée à la compréhension de leurs mécanismes selon une perspective plus large, visant à révéler tant les propriétés générales de la musique que leurs implications envers l’ensemble des processus socio-culturels d’expression, interaction et communication. Ces questions peuvent concerner de nombreux paradigmes et disciplines relevant des sciences naturelles, technologiques ou humaines (acoustique, informatique, sociologie, psychologie, neurosciences, sciences cognitives, physiologie, linguistique, philosophie, sémiotique, esthétique, etc.), et qu’accompagnent les diverses méthodologies et épistémologies de recherche idoines. La nature interdisciplinaire de la musicologie systématique se caractérise alors en pratique par son approche empirique, s’appuyant sur des données quantifiables, alliée à une analyse critique de la problématique. Les retombées de ces diverses perspectives de recherche regroupées sous l’égide musicologique tiennent non seulement dans l’avancement du champ des connaissances fondamentales sur les musiques et leurs fonctions, mais aussi dans leurs applications artistiques (pratique, performance, technologies ou pédagogie musicales) et sociales (thérapie, rééducation, communication).

Ce 5ème congrès SysMus12 est réalisé en collaboration avec l’OICRM, la Faculté de musique de l’Université de Montréal, le BRAMS et le Cercle de musicologie de l’Université de Montréal.